New book: Shared Characters in Jain, Buddhist and Hindu Narrative

9781472484451I am delighted to announce publication of my new book, Shared Characters in Jain, Buddhist and Hindu Narrative: Gods, Kings and Other Heroes, in the Routledge series Dialogues in South Asian Traditions. The book is the major output from an AHRC project “The Story of Story in Early South Asia”, which I carried out with James Hegarty of Cardiff University between 2013 and 2016.

And my domestic appliance reward (a tradition I began with my first book!) this time is a sewing machine. It has taken me twenty years to get over the horror of sewing classes at school, and I now feel ready to embrace this creative art. So far I’ve only managed cushion covers, but the world is my oyster!

Wishing all my readers a very restful festive season and an excellent start to 2017.

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Academia, Buddhist texts, Jain texts, Publications, Religious narrative. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New book: Shared Characters in Jain, Buddhist and Hindu Narrative

  1. jayarava says:

    Hi Naomi

    I have yet to read it, but I have been aware of the need for such a book for many years. So I’m very pleased to see it published. Except that Routledge price it at **£95**, so I may never read it. Routledge ensure that nothing escapes their gravitational well. It’s disappointing..

    So, you know, congratulations, but in the end it just seems a shame to have locked away all that research away from the people who might be most interested in it.

    Please, academics, stop using Routledge to publish your work.

    • I couldn’t agree more! It was supposed to go with Ashgate, but Ashgate got bought, and I wanted to stay within Brian and Laurie’s series. In future I will be looking elsewhere. Some comfort, though: they have promised a paperback after a year, so it will become much more affordable later.

  2. Leedom Lefferts says:

    Naomi – congratulations on your new book . . . but, with a sewing machine, I don’t think “the world is (your) oyster”! More likely a wonderful dress/coverlet/? Best to you – keep warm. Leedom

    On Wed, Dec 14, 2016 at 6:32 AM, Naomi Appleton’s blog wrote:

    > naomiappleton posted: “I am delighted to announce publication of my new > book, Shared Characters in Jain, Buddhist and Hindu Narrative: Gods, Kings > and Other Heroes, in the Routledge series Dialogues in South Asian > Traditions. The book is the major output from an AHRC project “T” >

  3. Craig McEwan says:

    Hi Naomi. Congratulations on the new book, it sounds great! Hope you’re having fun with the sewing machine.
    – Craig

Leave a Reply

