My holiday reading

So the semester has drawn to a close, and my thoughts are turning to the coming weeks of rest and festivities. I still have a fair number of exams to mark, but after that what will I be reading? I have two books waiting for me:

img_3362The Testament of Gideon Mack, by James Robertson, has been on my bedside table for several weeks now, but I have not had a chance to properly start it. It presents itself as the writings of a minister who encountered the devil after a fall that should have killed him. So it is all about the nature of belief and of credibility, or so I gather. I look forward to seeing for myself!

This book is part of a general project to familiarise myself with Scottish literature, which has seen me read some wonderful books, from Lewis Grassic Gibbon’s Sunset Song to Jenni Fagan’s Panopticon.

indexThe second book I plan to read is the new Penguin Classics version of Barlaam and Josaphat. This, as I have long known, is a tale of a Christian saint that was actually adapted from an Indian biography of the Buddha. Although I often use it as an example of the mobility of stories, I am ashamed to say that I have never read it! So this new translation of the French version of Gui de Cambrai will be making an appearance during my holiday, accompanied I hope by large quanitities of chocolate, sloe gin, and roasted parsnips!

I wish all my readers a happy and restful festive season, and a wonderful start to 2015.

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Buddhist texts, reviews of scholarship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

