Tweeting the jatakas

Okay, so this is a bit daft. Stick with me.

I have decided to tweet the Pāli Jātaka book, all 547 stories, one at a time, each in 140 characters or less. This is despite having never been on Twitter before today.

Why? Well, I have been thinking for a while that it is time I re-read the text as a whole, which I have not done since I was doing my doctorate some years ago. Since I have a poor memory, summarising them as I go seems a good idea, and then why not share them with others at the same time? I anticipate that the summarising will pose quite an interesting challenge, increasing as I progress through the text to the longer stories, and my summaries will naturally be subjective. But I have a hunch that this will be a useful exercise for me, and I hope that others might be pleased to receive a mini-jātaka every now and again! (I make absolutely no promises as to frequency!)

If you would like to follow, then check out @JatakaStories.

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Buddhist texts, Jataka, Religious narrative. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tweeting the jatakas

  1. kate and eli says:

    I am seriously impressed at your commitment, I will keep a close eye on this
    Eli

  2. Sounds really interesting and enlightening!

    But I’m not on twitter. I wonder if you could repost them here, perhaps on a separate page linked to on the menu bar?

    • Thanks for your enthusiasm! If you look on the right side of the blog, beneath the feed from my Story of Story project blog, you’ll see the twitter feed there. I also plan to collate them periodically and post them to the blog as a document.

Leave a Reply

