Trip to Samye Ling

DSC_0083Today we took a group of students on a visit to Samye Ling, a Karma Kagyu monastery and Tibetan cultural centre in remote Dumfriesshire. If I am honest, it was a little too remote for my liking, given that we were in a big slow coach on narrow windy roads for two and a half hours each way. My stomach certainly did not enjoy it, but the rest of me did, and so did my new camera!

DSC_0060Founded in 1967, Samye Ling was the first Tibetan monastery in the West, and it has expanded over the decades to include not only an impressive shrine room, meditation rooms, dining room and monastic quarters, but also a delicious-looking cafe and a shop. The grounds are also extensive and there are plans afoot for a new medicine garden.

UnfoDSC_0058rtunately the weather was distinctly Scottish, but we had a great time regardless – the students certainly appeared to enjoy the opportunity to witness a living Buddhist centre, and our guide was excellent. I hope we will be able to repeat the trip in subsequent years, perhaps with either a smaller bus or the promise of an overnight stay!

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Buddhism. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trip to Samye Ling

  1. alex says:

    Great picts! Wish I could’ve made it. Did the cafe serve some nice vegetarian food?

  2. peterlaos says:

    I looked up the monastery on Google Maps, you’re not kidding that it’s out in the boondocks! But it looks very impressive from an aerial perspective (must have beautiful gardens in the summer). Your group will have to spend the night next time as it appears they do offer a wide variety of accommodations. I wonder what their not-so-near Scottish neighbors think of the monastery?

  3. Craig says:

    That’s so great that you got to visit. It’s one of the places that Bath Spa students do their week-long fieldwork placements, and although I went to Bhaktivedanta Manor, I know some of my classmates had a great time. Since then I’ve always wanted see it.

Leave a Reply

