The Mahabharata (again) and the power of stories

On a delayed train journey at the weekend I finally made it to the end of the “teaching books” of the Mahabharata. I am so relieved. I thought the battle books were largely boring, but I was little prepared for the concentration required to digest what Van Buitenen called “the longest death-bed sermon on record”. This, for those who don’t know, is the teaching given to King Yudhisthira by his grandfather Bhisma, who is lying on a bed of arrows on the battlefield. The trouble is, from my perspective, that the sermon contained very little narrative material, and far too many lists and statements of doctrine. These books are truly encyclopedic, and certainly enable the text to live up to its declaration that all that is here is elsewhere, and all that is not here is nowhere.

During my reading of the teaching books I found that each time a story came along my attention was immediately grabbed and my fading concentration restored. I see a not dissimilar response in the faces of my students whenever I get carried away with the telling of a story to elucidate a point of religious doctrine or practice. Story really does have the power to capture the attention. It is also memorable in a way that dry teachings are not. When I reflect on my Mahabharata experience thus far I find that I can recall much of the main plot (especially the drama in the year of disguise, still my favourite) and many of the embedded stories from the forest book. Even this close to their reading I can recall little of the contents of the teaching books.

Assuming I am not alone in my experience of the power of stories, what should we make of this long non-narrative portion of the great epic? Of course the epic is by nature open and inclusive, and many teachings have been absorbed into its pages. But why do they stay? And does anybody respond, these days, to this dry portion of such a vivid story? Does it even get included in modern retellings and adaptations?

There is an interesting comparison to be made with the Bhagavad Gita, which is also a non-narrative teaching embedded in the story of the Mahabharata. Is it only the fact that the Bhagavad Gita is short and punchy that ensures it remains memorable and potent? Perhaps if Bhisma had stuck to one teaching instead of trying to cover everything, we would be remembering his wisdom as we remember that of Krishna.

Meanwhile I am pleased to move forward and see what happens next in the story of the Mahabharata.

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Religious narrative and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mahabharata (again) and the power of stories

  1. I can easily relate to your latest post. I just published my Create Space Book 12 of The Mahabharata and submitted Book 13 and Books 14-18 as the final two volumes for proofing. Books 12 and 13 have something like 2,500 footnotes which I had to move to the bottoms of the pages they appeared on. Half the footnotes seemed to be Ganguli complaining about other translations. I intend to actually read the books after they are all published, and time will tell if reading them is more or less work than moving the footnotes.
    This is the listing in Amazon:
    http://www.amazon.com/The-Mahabharata-Book-XII-Part/dp/1493521020/
    I do have a thought about why the Gita is more interesting than other teaching books, and it relates to your point about story telling. The Gita does have a story to it. We may not wonder how it will come out (of course Arjuna will fight) but we are curious just what argument Krishna has that will convince him. It’s a bit like the old Columbo TV show that I’ve been watching reruns of. We know who the murderer is and exactly how the murder is done. The enjoyment of the story is finding out just how Columbo will catch him.
    In any case, I do intend to read every word of these books. If I can get through John Galt’s speech in Atlas Shrugged I can get through these.

  2. Pingback: Book review and author interview: The Mahabharata Secret | The Humming Notes

Leave a Reply

