New research project – The Story of Story

I have spent much of this week in Cardiff kick-starting a new research project with James Hegarty. The three-year project, funded by the AHRC (Arts and Humanities Research Council) is called ‘The Story of Story in Early South Asia’ and will explore shared elements (characters, lineages and genres) in the narratives of Brahmanical Hindu, Buddhist and Jain traditions. We have a project blog here with further information. I am looking forward to getting stuck in properly next week, and sharing my findings and reflections in due course.

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Buddhist texts, Jain texts, Religious narrative. Bookmark the permalink.