Proofs for Illuminating the Life of the Buddha

Today I finally saw image and text side-by-side for a book that I have been putting together with two colleagues that showcases an illustrated 18th century manuscript from Siam held in the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Details here. The text has taken some real effort to put together, yet it truly has second place to the images, which are simply stunning. Illustrations from the manuscript are supplemented by comparable images from other manuscripts (mainly held in the British Library) and temple murals. It has been such a privilege to be able to work on this manuscript. I cannot wait to see the book in print.

About naomiappleton

I work in the Divinity School at the University of Edinburgh, where I research and teach subjects related to South and Southeast Asian religions.
This entry was posted in Buddhism. Bookmark the permalink.